How to Dial in a New Brewer

Dialing in a new brewer can be exciting and intimidating. Sometimes, a new brewer can be similar to what you already own like if you were to bring home an origami dripper after being comfortable with a V60. Some brewers, however, like an Aeropress or a Clever Dripper, have a whole other set of rules than basic pour over cones and can seem as foreign as an alien planet. Never fear, dialing in a new brewer can be fun, help you learn more about coffee brewing, and the reward at the end is a great cup of coffee. 

Don’t let the newness scaries get to you. Take a deep breath, have fun, and try these tips when brewing those first few cups of coffee with a new brewer.

Do Your Research
With any new item, taking it out of the box is exciting but then the questions start to come of how to properly use your new brewer: What recipe do I start with? How do I know if I’m brewing right? What’s the ideal time or ratio for this? Before you heat up your kettle, do some research on your new brewer so you have an idea of what to expect: the pros and cons, expected brew times, and any recipes to use as a guide. If your new brewer comes with a manual, such as an espresso machine, read it (even if you are one of those people that tends to throw them away and figure it out on your own).

Start With Your Current Knowledge
When I got my AeroPress, it seemed like a completely foreign device until I realized that it incorporated elements of espresso brewing like pressure and smaller grind size to increase contact time. I used coffee ratios that I was already comfortable with and shortened the brew time to accommodate the smaller grind size. It took some trial and error, but using what knowledge I already had gave me a jumping off point to tweak the recipe until I found my groove. Think about the reasons why you purchased your new brewer and analyze how it relates to your own experience and knowledge of coffee brewing. 

Ask for Help
This is where having access to the vastness of the internet helps a lot. There is always someone who has brewed with that brewer and posted about it. Some bigger roasters or shops like Stumptown Coffee Roasters and companies like Prima Coffee Equipment have a ton of brew guides or lists of recipes for different brewers. This is usually where I check first and make adjustments from there based on my feelings about my first cup with my new toy.

Other times, I ask my coffee friends for advice. When I first got my Origami cone, I had brewed a couple cups that did not turn out and I felt at a complete loss. Everything I applied about V60 brewers just did not seem to produce the cup I wanted. I sat back and remembered that my friend Mar of TanBrown Coffee had been brewing with an Origami a lot at the time so I sent them a message asking for help. They kindly answered all my questions and talked me through what to expect with brewing. It helped so much and gave me a better frame of reference for working in unfamiliar territory. If your new brewer has you stumped, send your fellow coffee lovers a message or dm your online coffee friends and ask them for their tips and tricks.

Other coffee peeps that I tend to reach out to or check their content when I’m stumped are Erica Chadé, PocketScienceCoffee, and Niki Tolch.

Just Brew It
Once you’ve done your research, just brew a cup of coffee. The first few cups may not be perfect but, if you’ve done all your preparation, you will find your own groove with it. Try not to get frustrated, feel free to brew again if your attempt is not salvageable, and just have fun with it. Let yourself ease through this unfamiliar ground with grace. It’s just coffee and we are all learning. 

The continuing innovation within the coffee industry means that there are endless ways to brew coffee, with brewers of all shapes and sizes to get you to the cup of coffee you want. Expanding your collection of coffee equipment is exciting but also comes with the baby steps of learning something new. If the idea of that first cup of coffee makes you nervous to get right on the first try, relax and know that if you trust your instincts, ask for help, and remember that it is okay if your brew is not perfect, you will be on your way to mastering your new brewer in no time.

Leave a comment